Lindisfarne Castle is a 16th Century Tudor fortification which sits on Beblowe Crag, the highest point on the Holy Island of Lindisfarne off the Northumberland Coast. Built with stones taken from the disused Priory, it was purchased by the owner of Country Life magazine, Edward Hudson in 1901 and he engaged the well know architect Sir Edwyn Lutyens to refurbish the building in the Arts and Crafts Style. The castle is now owned by the National Trust.
Mirroring their use as storage for centuries by fishermen on the island, Lutyens had used upturned disused boats known as “herring busses” as sheds around the castle and in 2005 two of them were destroyed by fire. Replaced in 2006, a third boat was renovated by the National Trust.
In 2007, Historic Property Restoration were engaged to construct a high specification timber framed building in keeping with the style of the old boats for use as a ticket office and visitor reception point located to the west of the castle on the grassy elevated crag. Finished with oak cladding and louvres, the external pivot door and interior glass panelled doors create a unique feeling of space. Utlising our own traditional joinery works at Prudhoe we were able to manufacture and supply oak furniture for the ticket office and also carried out the electrical installations.